Skip to main content

Cancer Resources for the Recently Diagnosed: Credits

Resources available to the people of Oahu through the Hawaii State Library and the Internet

Credits

Home
Library Information:
All information pertaining to the Hawaii State Library hours: http://bit.do/hslhome

Image:
Image of Hawaii State Library. (n.d.). from: http://www.to-hawaii.com/oahu/cities/images/honolulu2/pano/hawaii_state_library.jpg

Widgets:
Google.com. (2015). Google map for 478 S. King St., Honolulu, HI. From: http://bit.do/hslmap

Twitter.com. (2015). HSPLS (@HSPLSHIgov) on Twitter. Retrieved October 2015, from https://twitter.com/hsplshigov

About Cancer
Cancer Definition:
Definition of cancer, Centers for Disease Control. Retrieved October 2015, from:  http://www.cdc.gov/cancer/index.htm

Centers for Disease Control. (2015). FastStats - Leading Causes of Death. Retrieved 14 October 2015, from: http://www.cdc.gov/nchs/fastats/leading-causes-of-death.htm

Image:
Image - National Cancer Institute logo, from: http://www.cancer.gov/

Books:
Altman, R., & Sarg, M. (2000). The cancer dictionary. New York, NY: Facts on File.

Longe, J. L. (2010). The Gale encyclopedia of cancer: A guide to cancer and its treatments. Detroit: Gale, Cengage Learning

eBooks:
Hartmann, L. C., Loprinzi, C. L., & Mayo Clinic. (2012). The Mayo Clinic breast cancer book. Intercourse, PA: Good Books. Retrieved from: http://hawaii.lib.overdrive.com/ContentDetails.htm?ID=20B69734-D490-4626-B61B-A6A8512D1587

Leifer, J. & Leifer, L.L. (2015). After You Hear it's Cancer. Lanham, MD: Rowman & Littlefield. Retrieved from: http://hawaii.lib.overdrive.com/D187FEFC-67D2-4FE9-8166-774E05BB162E/10/50/en/ContentDetails.htm?id=1557A27D-71BC-4D8E-9955-079759378614

Blog RSS feed:
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. (2015). CDC Cancer News. Retrieved 12 October 2015, from http://www2c.cdc.gov/podcasts/createrss.asp?t=r&c=340

Treatment
Treatment :
National Cancer Institute,. (2015). Types of Treatment. Retrieved October 2015, from http://www.cancer.gov/about-cancer/treatment/types

Books:
American Cancer Society. (2009). American Cancer Society complete guide to complementary & alternative cancer therapies. Atlanta, GA: American Cancer Society.

American Cancer Society. (2004). American Cancer Society's guide to pain control: understanding and managing cancer pain. Atlanta, Ga.: American Cancer Society.

Anderson, Greg. (2012). Cancer: 50 Essential Things to Do. New York, NY: Plume.

Ko, A., Dollinger, M., & Rosenbaum, E. (2008). Everyone's guide to cancer therapy. Kansas City: Andrews McMeel Pub.

Lemole, G. M., Mehta, P. K., & McKee, D.L. (2015). After cancer care: the definitive self-care guide to getting and staying well for patients after cancer. Emmaus, PA: Rodale.

Lyons, L. (2007). Diagnosis and treatment of cancer. New York NY: Chelsea House.

Miller, K. (2008). Choices in breast cancer treatment. Baltimore, MD: Johns Hopkins University Press.

Prinster, T. (2014). Yoga for cancer: a guide to managing side effects, boosting immunity, and improving recovery for cancer survivors. Rochester, VA: Healing Arts Press.

eBooks:
Chodak, G. (2011). Winning the Battle Against Prostate Cancer. New York, NY: Demos Medical Publishing. Retrieved from: http://hawaii.lib.overdrive.com/D187FEFC-67D2-4FE9-8166-774E05BB162E/10/50/en/ContentDetails.htm?id=7A5435C1-9170-4AB5-8834-9951ECF8B27A

Twitter feed:
cancer treatment lang:en. Retrieved from: https://twitter.com/search/?q=cancer+treatment+lang%3Aen

Databases & Articles
Images & Databases:
All database access, and image logos from the Hawaii State Library System: http://librarieshawaii.org/serials/databases.html
All article images taken from articles, cited on page under Articles heading. 

Nutrition & Diet

Books:
Grant, B. (2010). American Cancer Society complete guide to nutrition for cancer survivors. Atlanta, Ga.: American Cancer Society.

Keane, M., & Chace, D. (2007). What to Eat if You Have Cancer: Healing foods that boost your immune system, 2nd Edition. New York. NY: McGraw-Hill.

eBooks:
Buckman Weinstein, J. (2010). Tell me what to eat before, during, and after cancer treatment. Pompton Plains, NJ: New Page Books. Retrieved from: http://hawaii.lib.overdrive.com/B9135D4A-3CCD-41AD-A1C4-8732F2C109C5/10/50/en/ContentDetails.htm?id=BFEB07F2-83A8-40FC-821D-C3C449ECB10E

Loguidice, C., Markman, M., & Lammersfeld, C. (2013). Cancer nutrition and recipes for dummies. Hoboken, NJ: John Wiley & Sons, Inc. Retrieved from: http://hawaii.lib.overdrive.com/ACBF5DEE-DBA2-4CC8-80B3-04F75F082DD9/10/50/en/ContentDetails.htm?id=9ADF5053-63B0-49E5-8669-54706099773D

Mathai, K., Brent, O., & Hopper, J. (2014). The cancer wellness cookbook - smart nutrition and delicious recipes for people living with cancer. Seattle, WA: Sasquatch Books. Retrieved from: http://hawaii.lib.overdrive.com/ContentDetails.htm?ID=0CCDC255-F17B-4002-957F-03E090E3DFCE

Twitter feed:
Cancer nutrition lang: eng. Feed from: https://twitter.com/search/?q=cancer+nutrition+lang%3Aen

Organizations
All URLs for websites taken from respective organizations:
Health Library. (2015). Cancer. Hawaii Pacific Health. Retrieved October 2015, from http://hawaiipacific.staywellknowledgebase.com/HealthCenters/Cancer/

KokuaMau.org. (2015). Welcome to Kokua Mau . Retrieved October 2015, from http://kokuamau.org/

uhcancercenter.org. (2015). University of Hawaii Cancer Center. Retrieved October 2015, from http://www.uhcancercenter.org/

Finding Resources

Evaluating Your Resources:
Cancer.Net. (2010). Evaluating Cancer Information on the Internet. Retrieved October 2015, from http://www.cancer.net/research-and-advocacy/introduction-cancer-research/evaluating-cancer-information-internet

Harvard University. (2015). Evaluating Web Sources § Harvard Guide to Using Sources. Retrieved 13 October 2015, from http://isites.harvard.edu/icb/icb.do?keyword=k70847&pageid=icb.page346375

National Cancer Institute. (2015). Using Trusted Resources. Retrieved October 2015, from http://www.cancer.gov/about-cancer/managing-care/using-trusted-resources

Facebook:
Facebook.com. (2015). Health Sciences Library of the John A. Burns School of Medicine. Retrieved October 2015, from https://www.facebook.com/hslibjabsom

Library Information:
All info for the Health Sciences Library (JABSOM) at: http://hslib.jabsom.hawaii.edu/

Search Engines:
Clinicaltrials.gov. (2015). Basic Search - ClinicalTrials.gov. Retrieved October 2015, from https://www.clinicaltrials.gov/ct2/search

Imedisearch.com. (2015). iMediSearch | Home. Retrieved October 2015, from http://www.imedisearch.com/

Multimedia

Videos:
National Cancer Institute. (2013). Understanding Your Cancer Prognosis. Retrieved from https://www.youtube.com/watch?list=PLYKy4VbxNln5BPBg2OxeXLUo3mi7SYGJv&t=39&v=LnfOHUBGf3A

Cancer.NET. (2014). Navigating Challenges: Making Decisions about Your Cancer Treatment. Retrieved from https://www.youtube.com/watch?list=PLKz9uN1bL3p_CSNSxGN3sNMTL_i6bAKdy&v=NjfiMKjNoE0

Links:
YouTube.com. (n.d.). American Cancer Society. From: https://www.youtube.com/user/AmerCancerSociety

YouTube.com. (n.d.). Cancer.Net. From: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCoQQwkwlxqHyy37SWT7p8cQ

YouTube.com. (n.d.). National Cancer Institute. From:https://www.youtube.com/user/NCIgov

Widgets:
Centers for Disease Control. (n.d.). Five Minutes or Less for Health Widget. From: http://www.cdc.gov/widgets/healthyliving/index.html

National Cancer Institute. (n.d.). NCI Dictionary of Cancer Terms Widget. From: http://www.cancer.gov/syndication/widgets

Social Media

Blogs:
Cancercenter.com. (2015). Cancer Treatment Centers of America Blog | CTCA. Retrieved October 2015, from http://www.cancercenter.com/community/discussions/blog/

Sievers, L. (2015). Our Cancer. John Hopkins Medicine. Retrieved October 2015, from http://our-cancer.blogs.hopkinsmedicine.org/

Facebook:
Facebook.com,. (2015). American Cancer Society Hawai'i Pacific. Retrieved October 2015, from https://www.facebook.com/ACSHawaiiPacific

Facebook.com. (2015). National Cancer Institute. Retrieved October 2015, from https://www.facebook.com/cancer.gov

Facebook.com. (2015). University of Hawaii Cancer Center. Retrieved October 2015, from https://www.facebook.com/UHCancerCenter

Twitter:
Twitter.com. (2015). #CancerCaregiver - hashtag on Twitter. Retrieved 8 October 2015, from https://twitter.com/search?q=%23CancerCaregiver&src=typd&lang=en

Twitter.com. (2015). #CancerPatient - hashtag on Twitter. Retrieved 5 October 2015, from https://twitter.com/search?q=%23CancerPatient&src=typd&lang=en

Twitter.com. (2015). #Caregiving hashtag on Twitter. Retrieved 6 October 2015, from https://twitter.com/hashtag/Caregiving?src=hash&lang=en

Twitter.com. (2015). #livingwithcancer - hashtag on Twitter. Retrieved 6 October 2015, from https://twitter.com/search?q=%23livingwithcancer&src=typd&lang=en

Twitter.com. (2015). National Cancer Inst (@theNCI) on Twitter. Retrieved 8 October 2015, from https://twitter.com/theNCI

Twitter.com. (2015). CDC Cancer (@CDC_Cancer) on Twitter. Retrieved 11 October 2015, from https://twitter.com/CDC_Cancer

Resources for Caregivers

Books:
Brent, C.A. (2015). The Caregiver's Companion. Ontario, Canada: Harlequin.

Cornwall, D.J. (2012). Things I Wish I'd Known. Sarasota, FL: Bardolf & Co.

Rose, S. & Hara, R. (2011). 100 Questions & Answers About Caring for Family or Friends with Cancer, 2nd edition. Sudbury, MA: Jones & Bartlett Publishers.

Support Groups on Oahu
American Cancer Society. (2015). Resource Details. Retrieved October 2015, from http://www.cancer.org/treatment/supportprogramsservices/app/resource-detail?resourceId=121210

Hawaii Pacific Health. (2015). Support Groups. Retrieved October 2015, from https://www.hawaiipacifichealth.org/health-wellness/classes/support-groups/

Hawaii Prostate Cancer Coalition. (2015). Support Groups. Retrieved October 2015, from http://www.hawaiiprostatecancer.org/support-groups.html

Kuakini Health System. (2015). Support Groups. Retrieved October 2015, from http://www.kuakini.org/wps/portal/public/Health-Wellness/Support-Groups

Queen's Medical Center. (2015). Cancer Concerns. Retrieved October 2015, from http://queensmedicalcenter.org/cancer-concerns

Pamphlets
American Cancer Society. (2015). Cancer Facts and Statistics 2015 | Research | American Cancer Society. Retrieved October 2015, from http://www.cancer.org/research/cancerfactsstatistics/cancerfactsfigures2015/index

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. (n.d.). Breast Cancer: What You Need to Know Factsheet. From: http://www.cdc.gov/cancer/breast/​

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. (2000). CDC Stacks | Play it safe in the sun : a guide for parents - 23089 | Library Collection. Retrieved October 2015, from http://stacks.cdc.gov/view/cdc/23089