Skip to main content

The St. Catherine Experience for Graduate Students: Library and Archives

This Guide is intended to give a foundation of knowledge to graduate students at St. Catherine University, focusing on it's history, community, and services

Library Media Services, and Archives Overview

Libraries, Media Services, & Archives

Vision
The Libraries, Media Services, and Archives of St. Catherine University fosters exploration and engagement by providing opportunities --
independent and collaborative, curricular and co-curricular, formal and informal -- to discover, experiment, and create.

Mission
The Libraries, Media Services, and Archives collaborates in the University’s mission to develop ethical, reflective, and socially responsible leaders.
We empower our community to be engaged scholars, professionals, and citizens through the cultivation of services, collections, spaces, and experiences.
Building on traditional foundations of research and teaching, we facilitate innovative and emerging methods of inquiry, pedagogies, and technologies.

St. Catherine University Logo

St. Catherine University Library

St. Kate's Library
Search the catalog, chat with a librarian 24/7, request a book from another library, and oh so much more...

St. Kate's Library Graduate Workshops 
The Library offers workshops at the beginning of every semester to help get graduate students up to speed on their library skills.

St. Kate's Subject Librarians  
Did you know you have a Subject Librarian just for you? Our Librarians have specializations and can help with research and answer questions specific to your area of study. Get to know your Subject Librarian!

St. Kate's Library Article Databases
Search the St. Kate's article, journal & databases. There are both general and special databases related to your program. We've listed just a few below. If you have further questions, try contacting your program's Subject Librarian.

You will have to log in or already be logged in to your Kateway account for these links to work.
If you have timed out, you may have to log in again.

Hover over the ("i") button  for more information about each database:

Helpful Tip from the Library Students:
If it's your first visit to a new database or search platform, seek out the "Help" or "Search Tips". Each one has slightly different methods of making your search more fruitful, and knowing some of the shortcuts will help you find what you are looking for more quickly.

 

Google Scholar Search

St. Kate's Media Services

SCU Media Center    Academic Media Services
We have a variety of services to help you
with your media needs,
in and outside the classroom.

 

St. Paul

If you have questions about or need help with classroom media equipment, first visit or call:

St. Paul Library, CdC 130
2004 Randolph Avenue
St. Paul, MN 55105
651.690.6696

 

Minneapolis

If you have questions about or need help with classroom media equipment or videos, visit or call:

Old Main Room 445B
601 25th Avenue South
Minneapolis, MN 55454
651.690.7792

St. Catherine University Archives & Special Collections

The University Archives & Special Collections
The University Archives& Special Collections provides access to realia and documents pertaining to the history of St. Catherine University, including its early years as both a high school and college. It includes:

  • Documents from administrative offices, academic departments, individual faculty, and student organizations
  • Minutes and other documents from the Board of Trustees
  • University, student and alumnae publications
  • Faculty theses, dissertations, books and compositions
  • Published materials about faculty and administrators
  • Early registrar records
  • Early ledgers and other financial records
  • Copies of catalogs and bulletins
  • Large collection of photographs reflecting campus life, buildings, personalities, and activities

Supplementing this is a collection of realia of historical interest, some of which are also a tangible record of faculty travel. Realia given or willed to St. Kate's from personal collections are incorporated into the Archives.

 

St. Kate's Library Video Resources

Other St. Kate's Library Services

ILLiad – Interlibrary Loan
Click here to access the interlibrary loan system to request books, articles, or other items from external libraries that aren’t in any collections maintained at St. Kate’sYou can also access other Library accounts, such as RefWorks and your Library Book Account from this page.